« Where are the minutes from 01/15? | Main | Staff Misses Deadline; Council Cancels Call. »

"Where's that porn coming from, son?"

Spammers cause ever new embarassments. This week-end, we were visiting my parents. Thanks to Apple's excellent OS X, they are reasonably comfortable with their computer (well, mostly) which mostly serves as a repository for digital photography, and for exchanging e-mail and instant messages with me. Fortunately, their e-mail addresses haven't made it onto any spammers' lists, yet. You can probably imagine my surprise when I was suddenly questioned about some porn they had recently found in their inbox. The solution: This wasn't porn addressed to them, but a bounce message. Some spammer had, apparently, guessed my father's e-mail address (<first name>@does-not-exist.org; the first name isn't that rare), and had been using it as the sender's address for obscene spam. That spam hadn't reached the intended recipient, though, but my parents. No, I'm not suggesting that "adult content", "obscenity", or whatever you want to call it be banned online. But I don't want to be asked by my parents where that porn in their inbox comes from, either.

In more pleasant news on the spam front, Wired reports that Dutch police have arrested 52 people suspected of being involved with Nigerian scam schemes.

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://log.does-not-exist.org/mt/mt-tb.cgi/815

Comments (1)

Same here: Recently, I received a couple of bounces back to Helen, Kevin, Sandra, Debby, Dave, Brian and Ray at my domain name. What's even more bizarre: Those were delivery notifications with virus attachments. So I'm getting real bounces for fake ones. By the way: You probably don't want all the Korean spam I get for roessler:at:svensson.de? ;)

About

This page contains a single entry from the blog posted on February 1, 2004 5:32 PM.

The previous post in this blog was Where are the minutes from 01/15?.

The next post in this blog is Staff Misses Deadline; Council Cancels Call..

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

Creative Commons License
This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Powered by
Movable Type 3.35